Assignment: Loose Juice

Assignment: Loose Juice




Our task this week was to create a logo for a hypothetical product called Loose Juice.


Loose Juice was to be a product with no pre-established demographic and comes in the flavours Orange and Banana. Whether these were separate or mixed was not mentioned, so I made them separate flavours because, Banana Juice, one can dream.



I tried to think what the name Loose Juice would mean….

Loose as in, high in dietary fiber thus facilitating regularity? No, too base and perhaps, repulsive.

‘Loose’, as in ‘Fun’ or what the ‘kids’ think is ‘cool’ …maybe.

Loose as in detachable, portable? Seemed more likely.

I played around with some of these ideas in my sketches:

Some preliminary sketches

Some preliminary sketches

Cops and Robbers, OMG the JUICE is loose.

Cops and Robbers, OMG the JUICE is loose.

Running Fruit

Running Fruit

GIANT running Fruit.

GIANT running Fruit.

Extremely liquid loose lines.

Liquid loose lines.

Overtly GRATUITOUS liquid lines

Overtly GRATUITOUS liquid lines

While I personally liked those two  loose liquidy ones the best design wise, my abilities in Illustrator need an extreme amount of honing and refining and I felt I wouldn’t be able to get the look I wanted, so I opted for the most punchy kid friendly one.

All three combined with punchy kid friendly contrast colours, because marketing.

All three combined with punchy kid friendly contrast colours, because marketing.

I also opted to make the flavours individualized (though together on both packaging because Loose Juice only have two flavours in general and the Banana and the orange are of course, friends.  I also made a Special Edition Pineapple flavour:

I burn your retinas

I burn your retinas

Notice me children.

Notice me children.

He's in such a hurry.

He’s in such a hurry.

I really wanted to make the packaging, so I did, quickly in Maya, to show the label on the product and the product concept:

Oh man, the Juice IS Loose guys.

Oh man, the Juice IS Loose guys. (Comes with attached straw, inner that you poke through the aluminum covered hole on each package, top left of the pic)

I've never had banana juice but I bet it's really good, and powdery.

I’ve never had banana juice but I bet it’s really good, notice, nutritional info on the side. Banana doesn’t come with a straw but has a screw top.

And the special edition.

And the special edition.

I’m sort of happy with it, but let’s face it – I need a lot more time with Illustrator – it’s a great program but can be a bit convoluted and overwhelming at first. I thought that my long relationship with rastersized art would prepare me for Illustrator but learning the majority of it was a surprisingly trying.  I know my fellow classmates generally felt the same so I felt better about my little issues.

Leave a Reply

