Provide your own hosting service

Provide your own hosting service.

 

Web-Hosting-Providers-and-Their-Services

For the web based design module of our class we were asked to get a hosting service that would best serve our needs for the remainder of the semester.

I had never done this before and to be honest was a little lost as I have primarily dealt with WordPress or something of the like. On top of it the amount of options available are staggering and the process vary widely. Because I didn’t know what I was going to make with the website I had difficulty picking a service that I felt would cover all my bases. None of them are free, of course – as it is a service and one of high demand.

After all, the entirety of the service is having a space on the internet to store the space you have on the internet.

But where to put your stuff? A shared server host? (good: Cheap, entry level, but no access to root and site performance can be hindered by others on the same server)

Maybe a Virtual private server, or a cloud server?

I am I really serious about this and if I am, shouldn’t I get the best, which is a dedicated server?

 

Initially I made a deal with the schools recommended service, One.com.One.Com-Voucher-Code

I made the domain name hosaroygard.co.uk (yes I realize I’m in Norway, but the .no or com was pretty damn expensive so if I have to make pretend I’m British to save 40 bucks, I will.)

 

im_so_british

Either way, I played around with the service, which has a nice template system going on (which I can’t use) and a rather disorganized system.

I was so unimpressed with it I contacted their (albeit very polite) customer service and cancelled my subscription. For one reason or another, I hated it.

 

So what to do, I decided to try out Hostgator, a hugely successful hosting service for low to mid tier sites. The conveniently have a 45 day money back guarantee if I also hate it (one.com on the other hand charged me 363 kr for one month, plus probably more since the have a 60 day restriction on cancellations, so you effectively pay out the ass if you hate them or don’t use your site, lesson learned).

 

host_gator_logo

Silly looking logo, great service.

 

The difference is that with Hostgator is that they place no limitation on the amount or size of files directly pertaining to your website, nor do they cap data transfer. One.com had that capability too, but available only in ‘packages’ which progressively got more and more expensive.

So all in all, I’m in no way impressed with one.com, other than their customer service and I am overjoyed to have switched to Hostgator -I know I sound like a commercial but I’m not being paid for this. I think the deal is that it is all up to what you expect of the service, how it’s laid out and alot of the peripherals – a lot of companies have hidden costs that simply don’t come into play when you first sign up – so be sure to read the fine print and only go for companies that offer a money back guarantee if you are left unsatisfied.|

 

Update: …which I was, lol I’m such an ass – finding a good hosting service is like finding a bloody life partner.

I ended up with BlueHost. I didn’t settle. It was expensive, but most worthwhile things are.

 

Leave a Reply

